I Want My Blankie!

linus

If I were to ask you about that one thing from your childhood that meant the world to you, would you respond with, “my blankie” or “stuffed animal”? …I thought so! Not only did we fall asleep with this inanimate object, but it went EVERYWHERE with us, didn’t it? This THING became an extension of our body! And if ANYTHING came between us and our beloved…cue in the waterworks!

Even as adults, we’ve got our go-to’s in life when dealing with stress and anxiety. They may not be binkies or teddy bears, but whatever that thing is for you, it exists in our life to bring us comfort. I’ll be honest, when I’m feeling off, one of the first things I want to do is crawl into my warm, cozy, bed. Recent studies have shown that sleeping with weighted blankets can help ease the symptoms of insomnia, anxiety, stress, depression, and more. According to lifehack.org, the weight of the blanket acts as Deep Pressure Touch Therapy (DPTS), making the body feel relaxed, grounded, and safe. The pressure of the weight when gently applied to the body, encourages serotonin production, which lifts your mood.

So, the next time the weight of the world has you up at night, buy or make yourself a weighted blanket and catch some Zs!

Leave a Reply

