SUMMER TIME MOSQUITO TIME

I found this post that really gives you some ideas on how to combat the mosquitoes in your own yard.  I followed the instructions from this post and I have created a really dramatic setting on my porch and deck.

Over the years I have purchased many products, most of them really smelly, to achieve a mosquito free environment.  If you love the outdoors like I do and live in the South you understand this challenge.  I refuse to give up great summer evenings and dinners.

These are the 11 plants and I bought each one of them and have placed them in free draining pots.  My goal is to achieve zero standing water.  A mosquito can breed in a thimble of water.  I will keep you posted on my results as the summer progresses.  The summer here in North Carolina is off to an early start, so it should be a good year for testing the effectiveness of these plants.mosquito-plants-570x800

plants and

Citronella

Lemon Balm

Catnip

Marigolds

Basil

Lavender

Peppermint

Garlic

Penny Royal

Rosemary

Geranium

Leave a Reply

